UMFF 2021 본문

My Green Mountain

UMFF 2021  /  Award guide / Jury  /   Jury

Preliminary Jury

H. Jay

H. Jay worked at a university institute of film in Seoul after a doctoral course of film aesthetics. He had an interest in an unique ways to create meaning of film, so that studied to establish the principle of its signification using conceptual blending theory from the cognitive linguistics while working at the institute. However, all of a sudden, he left for India so as to pursue his old dream as a film creator. After coming back to Korea, he is still trying for it.

SEO Do-eun

Seo Do-eun studied Sociology, Philosophy and Art History at Ewha Women's University. She earned a master’s degree and became a PhD candidate in film studies at University Paris 1. She joined the Zero Plus International Film Festival as a jury member. After working at Ulju Mountain Film Festival, she is currently a programmer of Seoul Eco Film Festival.

HAN Song-yi

A film critic, Han Song-yi has completed a PhD degree in film studies and has created films and instructed scenario writing for a while and is still teaching filmmaking in Seoul. She takes a part in preliminary jury based on her personal experience of climbing club years ago.

International Competition Jury


Darcy Paquet is the founder of and the author of New Korean Cinema: Breaking the Waves. He teaches at the Busan Asian Film School, and works as a program consultant for the Udine Far East Film Festival. In 2014 he co-launched the Wildflower Film Awards Korea, which recognizes achievement in Korean independent filmmaking. He has also done subtitle translation for many Korean films including Parasite and The Handmaiden.

MO Eun-young

Programmer of Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival. She was a writer for EBS TV programs such as Cinema Paradiso and Anitopia, and contributed to magazines and daily newspapers such as FILM2.0, DVD2.0, and KINO as a film critic. She also worked as a programmer for Korean Film Archive Cinematheque KOFA for multiple years from its opening. She has also organized a number of fusion performances that join classic films with various genres, such as Crossroads of Youth.

Christine Kyung-mi PAE

Born in 1964, a female climber. She climbed the highest peak in North America, McKinley, three times in her 2~30's and programmed Korea Tour of Banff Centre Mountain Film and Book Festival. Pae also worked for 5 years as a chief editor at Korea Alpine Federation magazine and was a president of Korea Womens Alpine Club. She is the first Korean executive committee member of UIAA, the first female secretary general of UAAA, and the advisor of the Youngone Outdoor(TNF Korea). She recently took a vice president of the KAF.

LEE Myung-se

Born in 1957. He debuted with feature film Gagman(1988). His most notable films include My Bride My Love(1990), Nowhere To Hide(1999). Currently, he is a festival director at SEFF.

CHENG Pinhung

Film critic, lecturer, festival programmer for New Taipei City Film Festival(2012-2014) and a short film curator for Kaohsiung Film Festival(2013-2017). Known by the pen name of Ryan, Cheng has published extensively online and in various media outlets. He runs a professional film blog and is the author of The Love and Death of Taiwan Cinema(2010) and Taiwan Cinema in Transition: In Search of True Taiwan Spirit(2019).


Festival director at Banff Centre Mountain Film and Book Festival. She has climbed the Canadian Rockies and is an avid backcountry skier having toured throughout North America, The Alps, the Himalaya and many other. Her writing has appeared in Highline Magazine, Alpinist and so on. She is the author of Breaking Trail: The Chic Scott Story and her work is part of the Waymaking. She also serves on the Mountain Culture Committee of the Alpine Club of Canada.

NETPAC Award Jury

KIM In-soo

He is the first generation of film producing in Korea, had produced Two Cops, Jungle Story, Number 3 and invested, produced, and distributed Silmido, King And The Clown while was a president of Cinema Service. He also was an executive secretary of KOFIC, a chairperson of Chungnam Film Commission, a director of Chungnam Information Culture Technology Industry Agency, and currently is a chairperson of Busan Film Commission.

PARK Sun-young

Started her career as a programmer at Mise-en-scene Short Film Festival in 2004. Worked as a manager for AFA from 2005 to 2007, a specialist for BCF in 2011, and Korean Cinema Retrospective in 2013 at Busan Iternational Film Festival. Also had worked as a research professor at Korea University from 2011 to 2019, and as a visiting professor at Chung-Ang University in 2018. Currently, she is a programmer for Asian Cinema at BIFF.

OH Young-suk

A HK+research professor of the Institute for East Asian studies, at SungKongHoe University. Her major is film history and theory. Recent interests of her research lie in politics of emotions and affective historiography. Publications include: Korean Cinema and the Cultural Discourse in the 1950s, N. Korean Defecter’s Experience and cinematic representation. She translated Slavoj zizek's book The Fright of Real Tears and David Bordwell's Narration in the Fiction Film.

Youth Jury


The Youth Jury of the Ulju Mountain Film Festival was launched in 2019 to encourage the participation of the Ulsan region’s younger generation. In 2021, a new awarding section called Youth Choice was added to the Youth Jury, following the Youth Jury Special Award, which has been an awarding section since 2019. The Youth Jury Special Award will select one film for NETPAC, and Youth Choice will select films to recommend to young audience members from all the films at the 6th UMFF. Cheonsang High School students will participate as the Youth Jury for the Youth Jury Special Award, and Sangbuk Middle School students will participate in Youth Choice.

Youth Jury - Cheonsang High School

KO Eun-seo, KIM Bu-gyong, KIM Yu-jung, AN Na-kyung, AN Yeo-eun, EOM Ye-rin, LEE Seung-hee, LEE Ji-won, JEONG Won-do, CHO Su-min, CHOI Si-a

Youth Choice - Sangbuk Middle School

GU Hee-tae, KIM Gang-min, PARK Hui-jeong, LEE Yeon-su, LEE Seung-jun, LEE Eun-ji, LEE Ju-ha, JUNG Ye-bin, JUNG Ji-won, CHOI Song-a, HAN Gye-rae